A new purpleheart whorl spindle

Nice fine alpaca/merino wool yarn on my new purpleheart whorl spindle

Nice fine alpaca/merino wool yarn on my new purpleheart whorl spindle

In my previous post, I mentioned classes I took at Festival of the Snow Eaters. While that event was in early October, a few weeks later I attended Fall Grand TUA in Regina. While there, there was a merchant with a gorgeous purpleheart whorl spindle…

After the feast, I found myself in possession of the spindle… and so at Arts & Science practice  the following Monday, I had to give it a “whirl” (teehee) – with some gorgeous purple 30% Alpaca, 70% Merino Top wool from New Zealand.

Spindle with the package of wool roving

Spindle with the package of wool roving

You might not be able to tell, but the spindle doesn’t have a hook like the other ones I’ve used – instead it has a notch at either end to use as a top or bottom whorl spindle. Getting the hang of spinning without a hook was a new technique for me, and a bit tricky to start.

The wool spun up very nice – quite fine (much finer than my first attempts!) and very even (whoohoo!) which means when I do get enough spun up, I’m hoping it will make up into something much smoother and consistent than my first attempt too. I might try to ply it as well which will be another new technique.

Leave a Reply

