hand-made pendant bails

Reproduction coin with hand-made riveted bail

Reproduction coin with hand-made riveted bail

So this might not seem like much, but I was really happy that I was able to add a hand-made bail to one of my coin pendants. This is another of my ‘stretch’ goals in working on my Hameenlinna (inspired) necklace now that I have (most of) the right reproduction coins.

I used coloured copper sheet metal (24 gauge) from Michael’s, along with a selection of small rivets from Michael’s too. I THINK I can make my own rivets from wire, but I haven’t tried that yet.. maybe next…

I’m expecting a small order of sheet silver, which will be the more period material, and I really need to use some nylon-head pliers to avoid marking the metal – but I’m happy that I was able to figure this out to get one stretch closer to my stretch goal of improving my necklace.

Leave a Reply

