Avacal Kingdom A&S championship – goals and stretch goals

Replica Viking Age coins from Alpha Officium

Replica Viking Age coins from Alpha Officium

The other day I sent in my intent to compete for the Kingdom of Avacal Arts & Sciences champion. I’m still really new to the SCA, so I don’t really think that I stand a big chance of winning (though I’m still going to try to work towards that!) but I’m more doing it for the experience, and because I think that if more people are active -that more people will see A&S as something fun and interesting to try, and to support!

Good evening Crown Prince and Princess Wernar Ivarsson and Helene Charesse,

With your permission, it is my desire to enter the list at Your Coronation to compete for the honor of being Your champion of Arts & Sciences.

Good evening Avacal Minister of Arts & Sciences Caterina di Alessandro di Gugliemo Franceschi &c, and Avacal Arts & Sciences Champion Brangwayn the Everpresent,

With the permission of the Royal Heirs, I intend to enter three projects for the glory of Their Reign. My intention is to present the following:
A necklace in the style of a Viking Age find from Finland
An apron in the style of Viking Age finds from Finland
A pair of mittens in the style of a Viking Age find from Iceland

I have no Laurel, consort, or household to exclude from judging, however I thank Machabi Caiaphus for his assistance in casting my pendants, and was taught Spinning by Mistress Nan Compton at a TUA class.

If there is anything further you’ll need from me, please advise.

Drífa at lækjamoti

So, my three projects will be:

  • A necklace in the style of a Viking Age find from Finland
  • An apron in the style of Viking Age finds from Finland
  • A pair of mittens in the style of a Viking Age find from Iceland

I also have some stretch goals for each of these that I’d like to accomplish. My goal isn’t to accomplish ALL of my stretch goals (The competition is mid-February… and I need to do my research, write my documentation, and make the project… plus anything else that comes up last minute… since that seems to be a thing!) but rather this is a list of things I think would add to my display/project/understanding of the process. It’s also sort of a wish-list for things I’d like to try in the future… though I’ll try to do at least one of my stretch goals for each of these projects!

Necklace stretch goals

Right side of the centre elements of the extant necklace

Right side of the centre elements of the extant necklace

To left is the original extant necklace that I’ll be inspired by. I’m not attempting a re-creation.

After seeing the extant one in person, I realized how many things I could improve upon for my version, and also have a few things I’d like to add to the necklace if I have the time.

  • Make one or all of the pendants through either sheet metal work or casting (Both of these techniques are new to me)

Apron stretch goals

Brown wool peplos-style Finnish Iron/Viking Age worn with an embellished white apron

Brown wool peplos-style Finnish Iron/Viking Age worn with an embellished white apron

The photo to the left is my first attempt at this style, though after learning more about the aprons, I see the errors I made, and will be making one that is more historically-informed.

I’ll be aiming to create an apron in the style of 11th Century popular styles, with border trim, corner fan-shaped ornaments, and individual motifs.

For stretch goals I’d like to:

  • Try the woven-band technique found on one of the other apron finds – using Diane’s grid-technique for layout.
  • Learn tablet-weaving to make a coil-embellished belt.
  • Make the birch-structured hat embellished with coils – maybe with birch, maybe with buckram.

Mitten stretch goals

Wearing one of the mittens.

Wearing one of the mittens.

The photo to the left is of the pair of mittens I made from purchased yarn – my first attempt at naalbound mittens.

I’m planning to use hand-spun wool, using my purchased and/or gifted drop spindles, and making my mittens using the Oslo stitch which I’m most comfortable with and looks like the stitch used on the original mitten I saw. However, for my stretch goals I would like to try:

  • Making my own drop spindle whorl from soapstone
  • Making my own drop spindle shaft from birch (from my backyard)
Leave a Reply

