Cowl-back semi-sheer tunic

Side view of my backless cowl-neck top

Side view of my backless cowl-neck top

In a previous post, I showed off a cowl-back dress that I made, inspired by Pinterest. In my post, I mentioned wanting to do a tunic too… and I did!

You might be able to tell… I actually made this up quite some time ago – back when there were leaves on the trees instead of snow!

As a refresher – here’s the dress from Pinterest:

I used the front of the dress pattern, but re-drafted the back to have better armholes. I also adjusted the length, and dropped the neckline slightly at the front as well.

I used this gorgeous, super-soft viscose fabric I bought in Helsinki from EuroKangas. I bought it in a black/white/yellow (with a bit of grey and silver) colourway, and also in a black/white/red (with that same grey and silver) colourway. I saw the yellow first, loved the fabric.. bought it… and when I went back the next day for more of a different fabric, found the red colourway too! (They also had an orange and a purple too..)

Back view of my backless cowl-neck top

Back view of my backless cowl-neck top

I bound the edges in the same stretch pvc that I used on the dress, and did the back strap with more of the same. It gives a bit of a harder edge that I really like. The hem was really tricky, but with how much it drapes, I’m ok with that.  I did intend to pull the armholes in a bit more with the binding – but didn’t do it enough, so the armholes are a bit big… but considering it will only be worn as an over-tunic (it’s a bit too sheer even if it wasn’t backless) I’m not super worried about that. It did make me want to ponder a similar version with sleeves though! Maybe a contrast shoulder panel?

Front view of my backless cowl-neck top

Front view of my backless cowl-neck top

(I blurred out my face on this one because I look rather goofy, and didn’t want THAT to be out there on the ‘web! I also realize how much weight I’ve lost since I made and photographed this!)

Leave a Reply

