Blue Taffeta Circle Skirt

Blue taffeta circle skirt with a store-bought top

Blue taffeta circle skirt with a store-bought top

When I made my skull-print circle skirt last year, I really wanted to make it up again. I was actually itching to use some gorgeous bronze taffeta I had (but have mentally reserved for a Steampunk gown) so I held off… and then I found some gorgeous black/blue shot fabric on sale at Fabricland, so picked it up for this skirt.

Oddly enough – I had to re-draft the circle…. I couldn’t find my original pattern, but it’s not a big deal, it’s just a quarter of a circle, so it drafted up fast.

The fabric on the other hand…gave me quite a fuss. It’s insanely off-grain. I washed it, tried straightening it, and ripped it to get the true grain.. and it STILL was off-grain. Nothing seemed to work. I would have been super annoyed if I had bought it regular price, or had intended to make something more fitted out of it, but for a circle skirt it shouldn’t make TOO big of a difference – other than being a pain to cut out!

Ripping the blue taffeta on both edges to try to find the real grain...

Ripping the blue taffeta on both edges to try to find the real grain…

Seriously… look how off-grain it was, comparing where the clerk at Fabricland cut the fabric, and where it ripped…. Terrible. This is why I HATE it when clerks cut fabric that really should be torn…

I cut the fabric with two seams only, did a wide cased elastic waist band, and trimmed the hem with a band of navy tulle to make it floaty and pretty – without adding extra weight or having to force the circle into a regular hem.

I haven’t worn the skirt yet – I feel a bit put-off by how difficult the fabric was, so I might have to get over that before falling in love with my new skirt….

Blue taffeta circle skirt with a store-bought top

Blue taffeta circle skirt with a store-bought top

Leave a Reply

