Silver silk underdress

Silver silk underdress

Silver silk underdress

I bought some gorgeous dark silver/pewter dupioni silk not too long ago – but I bought all there was… which meant I had to REALLY be careful about how I cut out the pattern pieces to make this underdress. I also bought some lighter silver silk at the same time… but I REALLY wanted to use this darker silk!

Silver silk underdress- work in progress

Silver silk underdress- work in progress

I used the same pattern I’ve used before for the ‘rectangular construction’ underdress (rectangles and trapezoids really…) though the sides have far less flare than I usually put in dresses in this style – I just didn’t have enough fabric for that. I also had to make it slightly shorter than I usually make this dress, though as it’s intended to be an underdress for a very long over-dress, I hope it will go unnoticed.

The fabric is from Fabricland, and was $42.00/meter, on sale 70% off.

This underdress will go under a new silk sideless surcote…. to come!

Silver silk underdress

Silver silk underdress

One comment on “Silver silk underdress

Leave a Reply

