Blue silk sideless surcote

 

Blue silk sideless surcote (over a silver silk underdress)

Blue silk sideless surcote (over a silver silk underdress)

To go along with the dark silver underdress, I made a blue silk sideless surcote as a slightly ‘upgraded’ version of the sideless surcote I made earlier.

The blue silk was from 3-star fabrics in Calgary, but I forget how much it was. It’s not at all slubby – it’s very smooth ūüôā

I used the same pattern, and trimmed the dress in black dupioni silk. I know that dupioni is a bit too slubby to be ‘upper class’ – but I didn’t use a lot of it, and I didn’t have any other smooth silk to use (and no inclination to go out and hunt some down…)

Direct link from Pinterest

The… PLAN… is to print this silk surcote with a floral motif like the painting to the left (directly linked from Pinterest, in case the link breaks in time)… BUT I really LIKED the surcote just as it was, so I haven’t taken the leap yet to printing it.

Maybe once I DO print it, I can submit it for the Historical Sew Monthly “Pattern” challenge in August.

I didn’t want to do the fur trim like the painting however.

Blue silk sideless surcote (over a silver silk underdress)

Blue silk sideless surcote (over a silver silk underdress)

One comment on “Blue silk sideless surcote

Leave a Reply

