Historical Sew Fortnightly (Monthly) 2015 index

As I did in my 2014 index, I wanted to show off in one spot what I made for each of the 2015 challenges. This year the creator decided to only do a monthly challenge instead of a twice-per-month challenge, so there are a lot fewer challenges, with more time between each to work. In some cases this meant I could spend a lot more time on each project, but realistically it just meant that I used the challenges as jumping of points to other projects which I completed outside of the HSF timeline.

White UFO Camicia

Finished camica. Photo taken after event so I look a bit ragged, hence the blurred face!

Finished camica. Photo taken after event so I look a bit ragged, hence the blurred face!

January – Foundationsmake something that is the foundation of a period outfit.

For this challenge my fabric didn’t come in time for the event I needed this for, so I opted to take an unfinished project (UFO) and re-make it into a Camicia for my Italian Renaissance costume.

Link to post

Blue linen Norse underdress

Focus on neckline and cuff of new blue linen underdress

Focus on neckline and cuff of new blue linen underdress

February – Colour Challenge Blue: Make an item that features blue, in any shade from azure to zaffre.

This was an easy project, and completed fairly quickly compared to some of the other projects. I did this dress because I wanted a longer, and more ‘upscale’ dress to wear with my Norse garb.

Link to post

Purple phallic-shaped purse

My finished purse (pouch side)

My finished purse (pouch side)

March – Stashbusting: Make something using only fabric, patterns, trims & notions that you already have in stash.

I got super-excited about the “penis-purse” while researching bags, pouches and pockets for my Italian costume, so although this isn’t the right time frame for the costume I had made, I was rather tickled to have the chance to give it a try, and think it’s fabulous.

All of the fabric, trims, notions, and supplies came out of my existing ‘stash’, and nothing was bought for it, or even bought with this project in mind!

Link to post

Norse Menswear

Norse man's tunic and pants, with a pillbox-style hat

Norse man’s tunic and pants, with a pillbox-style hat

April – War & Peace: the extremes of conflict and long periods of peacetime both influence what people wear.  Make something that shows the effects of war, or of extended peace.

I didn’t want to do a true cross-dressing outfit, but wanted pants to wear in colder weather. In period, there are several stories of Viking Age women dressing as men for multiple reasons, including fighting.

Project link

Norse coat

NorseCoat1

Norse wool coat

May – Practicality:  Fancy party frocks are all very well, but everyone, even princesses, sometimes needs a practical garment that you can DO things in.  Create the jeans-and-T-Shirt-get-the-house-clean-and-garden-sorted outfit of your chosen period.

This coat is super practical – since I desperately needed a way to stay warm and cosy in the colder months for dress-up. Despite no front closure, the wool teamed with the long and slim cut made this coat super-cosy, and I even ended up taking it inside my sleeping bag for a spring camping event – it made sleeping much more comfortable!

 

Link to post

French Hood

First French Hood, side view

First French Hood, side view

June – Out of Your Comfort Zone: Create a garment from a time period you haven’t done before, or that uses a new skill or technique that you’ve never tried before. 

This was my first attempt at Tudor… I still have a gown on my wish-list, though it’s pretty far down the list at this point.

Link to post

 

Heart-shaped hennin/horned headdress

Horned Headdress with the veil hanging behind a bit too much

Horned Headdress with the veil hanging behind a bit too much

July – Accessorize: The final touch of the right accessory creates the perfect period look.  Bring an outfit together by creating an accessory to go with your historical wardrobe.

This was to go with the August challenge, a sideless surcoat. While the surcoat is pretty simple, the hat is super-fancy, weird, eye-catching and interesting!

Project post

Sideless surcote

Green sideless surcote

Green sideless surcote

August – Heirlooms & Heritage: Re-create a garment one of your ancestors wore or would have worn, or use an heirloom sewing supply to create a new heirloom to pass down to the next generations.

It’s a bit of a stretch, but I went back to a common style between what would have been my German and English ancestors, a sideless surcote.

Link to post

Finnish Peplos

Brown wool peplos-style Finnish Iron/Viking Age

Brown wool peplos-style Finnish Iron/Viking Age

September – Colour Challenge Brown: it’s not the most exciting colour by modern standards, but brown has been one of the most common, and popular, colours throughout history. Make something brown.

I love this brown herringbone wool for part of my Finnish Viking Age costume.

Project post

Incomplete

October – Sewing Secrets: Hide something in your sewing, whether it is an almost invisible mend, a secret pocket, a false fastening or front, or a concealed message (such as a political or moral allegiance).

I didn’t get to this project unfortunately  – I just simply ran out of time having been gone on holiday for a while.

Viking Age outfit

Blue wool apron dress over a green wool underdress

Blue wool apron dress over a green wool underdress

November – Silver Screen: Be inspired by period fashions as shown onscreen (film or TV), and recreate your favourite historical costume as a historically accurate period piece.

I love the tv show Vikings, though the costuming (and a bunch of other things) are far from historically-accurate!

Link to post

Roman outfit

RomanGarb1December – Re-Do:  It’s the last challenge of the year, so let’s keep things simple by re-doing any of the previous 11 challenges.

For this one I re-did the practicality challenge, picking some lightweight linen for a cool and comfortable outfit for when the weather turns warm again.

Link to post

 

2016

We’re already well into the 2016 challenge year, and you can find my plan (and what I have done so far for 2016 here!

Leave a Reply

