Fashion (visual kei) masks

Black PVC mask (iPad photo)

Black PVC mask (iPad photo)

I saw some great photos of cool Visual kei/J-rock masks, and wanted to make one for myself as well. I though I could develop my own pattern, but decided to give a whirl and see if anyone had made one of their own and published the pattern – I was in luck! I decided to give a few of them a try.

Opus Relinque laced face mask

This one was the first one I made, using sturdy red snakeskin PVC lined with black and white striped cotton.  The whole thing is bound with purchased double-fold narrow bias, and I used thin black ribbon for the lacing, and elastic cord for the strap. I used a three-piece grommet for the lacing holes, and for “nose” holes.

This pattern printed out full-size, which was great, and it fit pretty much perfectly!

http://www.opusrelinque.net/2011/12/06/laced-bio-mask/

I also made up this mask in black PVC without the lacing.

Black PVC mask (iPad photo)

Black PVC mask (iPad photo)

Tom Banwell’s Ronin Gas Mask

Constructed "Toms" mask along with pattern

Constructed “Toms” mask along with pattern

This pattern was intended to be made with veggie-tanned leather, however I didn’t want to go that route, and made my version with the same red snakeskin PVC as the previous mask. The pivot point of the gore was pretty tough, but I LOVE the curved lines and think it looks very sleek. I think however that the PVC is a bit too thin to really support the shape, and the overall shape is rather animal-like with a bit of a ‘point’ in the nose, which would be more subtle I think in the leather versus the fabric.

This pattern needed to be enlarged through Photoshop, or you could enlarge it on a photocopier.

http://tombanwell.blogspot.com.es/2011/04/ronin-respirator-gas-mask-tutorial.html

Ready to cut out "Tom's" pattern

Ready to cut out “Tom’s” pattern

Jezuz666’s Leather Respirator mask

This design was also intended for leather, and is quite simple compared to Tom Banwell’s.

I ended up finding the shape of it really not suitable for what I had in mind. I made it up also in the red snakeskin PVC, but then trying it on, really didn’t like it at that stage.

2 piece mask - face blurred because it's a terrible photo!

2 piece mask – face blurred because it’s a terrible photo!

http://jezus666.deviantart.com/art/Leather-Respirator-Tutorial-205187054

Altering the two-piece mask for a different shape

Altering the two-piece mask for a different shape

Because I didn’t love the shape, I ended up altering it – slicing it across the mouth and adding in some fishnet material to breath through.

This I also didn’t end up liking, so at this point I discarded the project.

Hospital mask knock-off

I have a hospital mask, and opted to take some black PVC, red snakeskin PVC, and fishnet to make a mask in the same style with an upside-down cross in the middle.

This one has  a very different look – but I kind of like it too.

Cross mask (iPad photo)

Cross mask (iPad photo)

 

 

Leave a Reply

