Soapstone carving

Dendritic Soapstone from Green's. This one I bought more for an example of the raw material for display. (iPhone photo)

Dendritic Soapstone from Green’s. This one I bought more for an example of the raw material for display. (iPhone photo)

In previous posts I mentioned that I was working with soapstone – for my spindle whorl as well as for the moulds for my pewter pendants. I thought I’d share where I got the soapstone – Green’s Lapidary in Calgary.

Montana Soapstone from Green's. This one I thought would work for a spindle whorl. (iPhone photo)

Montana Soapstone from Green’s. This one I thought would work for a spindle whorl. (iPhone photo)

I used the rough stone above for my spindle whorl, and the smooth Italian soapstone blocks below for my pendants.  I kept the large dendritic Montana soapstone for the A&S display in February. I’m not sure what I’ll make with it….

Italian soapstone from Green's. I bought two blocks made of this. (iPhone photo)

Italian soapstone from Green’s. I bought two blocks made of this. (iPhone photo)

Leave a Reply

