March Ipsy Glam Bag

 

March Ipsy Glam Bag

March Ipsy Glam Bag

On March 29, my March Ipsy Glam Bag FINALLY arrived…

Normally it comes around the 15th -17th, so I was a bit irritated that it was so long – too late in fact to enter any of the Instagram giveaway contests too.  😦 boo.

(Or maybe hurrah for any of you who have been getting sick of me filling my Instagram with make up and selfies!)

So… here’s what I got in my Glam Bag:

Living Proof Perfect Hair Day dry shampoo

I’ve used a few other dry shampoos, and some of them work, some don’t. Some stink, others are ok. This one doesn’t smell too bad, but it also doesn’t seem to absorb a lot of oil and refresh my hair too much. Generally speaking dry shampoo isn’t a substitute on my hair for actually washing my hair -too bad really, since my hair is rarely actually *dirty* – it just needs to be refreshed.

4/10

I wouldn’t bother buying this, but for someone who does get benefit out of dry shampoos, this one might be fine – at least it doesn’t smell bad….

Nyx Liquid Suede Cream Lipstick in Pink Lust

WOW… this is an insanely neon-bright pink lipstick. Like an 80s revival retro party pink. Neon. The formula is pretty good though it seems, it goes on smooth, has a fairly neutral scent, seems to have good coverage, and is a lovely matte formula which is totally on-trend right now. I put it on around 4:00 pm, had a drink, and by 6:30 pm it was still going strong, (neon strong!) so I suspect that it’s decent long-lasting… with a decent staining capability on the lips (or fingers….)

7/10

There’s no way I’d buy this colour – but I’d totally buy this formula again if I saw it at the drugstore or cosmetics counter.

Tempu liquid bronzer in Warm Glow

There isn’t any sort of shimmer to this bronzer, which I actually kind of appreciate because I think it will make a half-decent hint of colour… though I didn’t really feel “bronzed” when I put it on, more like just slightly darkened…. Perhaps it will be useful as a cream contour? The liquid formula blended well (perhaps a bit too well, it seemed to fade onto my fingers quickly) and wasn’t messy.

5/10

I wouldn’t buy this, but it will find a place in my cosmetics drawer.

Nourish Organic Rejuvinating Rose Hip & Rosewater body oil mist

I’m not sure why they call it a mist, when it’s not a mist, but just a body oil. How odd. I had been really hoping this one would be nice, but the scent I was hoping for (rose… which I love) is just… not there. The oil is fine, though it doesn’t go very far, so I’ll need a lot to actually moisturise. It’s a bit of a dry oil though which is good – it settles in well and doesn’t leave my hands oily. I was just really hoping for it to actually smell like roses…

3/10

Eh. There’s nothing special about this at all.

Me Me Me make up brush

Just an ordinary powder/blush brush. It will have a place in my tool box. nice and soft…

7/10

I do like getting tools in my Ipsy Glam Bag!

I also redeemed some points….

and got a Trestique Mini Shadow Crayon in Aspen Pine. The colour is great – sort of a dark khaki green, no shimmer. It goes on pretty smooth and blends nicely. I am really liking a lot of what I’ve received by Trestique, so this was an easy choice for point redemption.

But… I’m kind of done with Ipsy

With the Canadian dollar still doing poorly, the cost of the Ipsy subscription just keeps going up for us Canucks, so I’ve decided to cancel my subscription. I’ve enjoyed getting a new little package of goodies each month, and trying new products, but the raising cost just isn’t worth it for me right now. Perhaps I’ll re-subscribe when our dollar improves!

This also means that my subscription code isn’t really relevant anymore, so if YOU are a current subscriber, feel free to post your subscription code below.. and if you’re thinking of subscribing to Ipsy… use one of the codes in the comments to send some free points to the person who posted!

Leave a Reply

