Throwback Thursday: Raspberry satin corset

Wearing the raspberry satin underbust corset - a bit too small for me right now though.

Wearing the raspberry satin underbust corset – a bit too small for me right now though.

I’m calling this a Throwback Thursday because this is actually a corset I made a while ago (so I don’t have any work-in-progress photos either). I made this to sell, back when I was hoping to get commissions for custom work (I’m not looking to do custom work anymore).

A bit about this corset:

This underbust corset is made of Raspberry Duchess Satin. It’s a bit more ‘red’ than ‘pink’.. and a little more ‘pink’ than a real red… so… Raspberry.  Duchess Satin is the kind of satin usually used for wedding gowns and bridesmaids dresses, it’s a thick, low-lustre satin.

This style has a natural hip – which has less hip compression… but lots of compression in the waist which makes for a dramatic shape. The corset is bound top and bottom with contrast black poly-cotton bias, and closes with a heavy-duty zipper (not a dress zipper). The lacing is black cord through three-piece grommets. The corset is lined in black cotton, and I’m unsure on the interlining, but I think it’s black cotton as well. There is an internal waist-stay sewn into the corset, and top-stitching on the corset is all done in contrast black stitching as well.

The corset has 12 spring steel bones, and 2 spiral steel bones at the curved hip for a total of 14 bones.

This corset was designed for:

  • Bust: 37″
  • Waist: 32″
  • Hip: 43″

The fully-closed waist measurement is 27″

The centre front length is 14.5″

 

This corset has never been worn except to take the photo, and comes from a smoke-free home.  None of my corsets (unless otherwise noted) have modesty panels or garter hooks.

 

 

Follow me!

Want to keep following my posts? Check out Dawns Dress Diary on Facebook, where posts from my blog auto-populate the page when I write something new or have something new to share. If you have a WordPress account you can also subscribe, or you could follow me on Twitter where posts from my blog are automated too. Want even more? Consider following me on Instagram, where I post a few sneak-peeks at what I’m up to!

Leave a Reply

