Black and white Norse wool coat

Black and white Norse wool coat with blue silk trim

Black and white Norse wool coat with blue silk trim

While sewing up the drab grey-green wool underdress and the dried herb linen underdress I also cut out and sewed up a black and white wool coat. I got this fabric for free from a former teacher who was de-stashing! It’s not a document-able weave, but it’s basically a striped tabby weave, where the stripes of black and white yarn create “O” shapes on one side and “H” shapes on the reverse. I opted to use the “O” shapes on the outside.

The coat is basically the same pattern as the houndstooth wool coat that I made a while back, though I re-sized it to make it a bit smaller. Luckily I had lots of fabric this time, so could make the hem a bit more flared than that coat.  I love the way that coat fits, and how warm it is, so I’m hoping I’ll end up loving this one just as much.

The weave also made it super-easy to cut out the pieces as well….

I trimmed the coat with some blue silk leftover from my blue silk sideless surcoat – there was JUST enough to trim the coat, but it’s nice and crisp.

A close up of the weave and hand-finished binding done in blue silk.

A close up of the weave and hand-finished binding done in blue silk.

One comment on “Black and white Norse wool coat

Leave a Reply

