Throwback Thursday: Teal silk corset

Teal blue underbust silk corset

Teal blue underbust silk corset

I’m calling this a Throwback Thursday because this is actually a corset I made a while ago (so I don’t have any work-in-progress photos either). I made this to sell, back when I was hoping to get commissions for custom work (I’m not looking to do custom work anymore).

A bit about this corset:

The outer fabric is a bright teal Dupioni silk, while the lining is black cotton. I don’t recall what the interlining is, but likely more black cotton.

The corset is trimmed in black poly-cotton bias, and the corset has spiral steel bones at the hips, and spring steel bones for the rest of the corset. There are a total of 16 bones in this corset. The corset has an internal waist-stay, a front strong zipper (not a standard dress zipper) and the lacing is paracord through three-piece grommets.

This is my “natural hip” design which does not offer a great deal of compression to the hips, allowing for a very dramatic silhouette.

Back of the teal blue silk underbust corset

Back of the teal blue silk underbust corset

This is an underbust corset, designed for:

  • Bust: 32″
  • Waist: 28″
  • Hip: 36″

The fully closed waist measurement is 24.75″

The centre front length is 11.5″

There is a slight discolouration on the front left, which was a flaw, not sun damage to the silk.

This corset has never been worn, and comes from a smoke-free home.  None of my corsets (unless otherwise noted) have modesty panels or garter hooks.

The markings for the grommet placement are still in the back inside of the teal silk underbust corset. These will come out with heat, washing, or dry-cleaning.

The markings for the grommet placement are still in the back inside of the teal silk underbust corset. These will come out with heat, washing, or dry-cleaning.

 

 

Follow me!

Want to keep following my posts? Check out Dawns Dress Diary on Facebook, where posts from my blog auto-populate the page when I write something new or have something new to share. If you have a WordPress account you can also subscribe, or you could follow me on Twitter where posts from my blog are automated too. Want even more? Consider following me on Instagram, where I post a few sneak-peeks at what I’m up to!

Leave a Reply

