Throwback Thursday: Ghosts & PVC corset

Exposed PVC bone casings

Exposed PVC bone casings

I’m calling this a Throwback Thursday because this is actually a corset I made a while ago (so I don’t have any work-in-progress photos either). I made this to sell, back when I was hoping to get commissions for custom work (I’m not looking to do custom work anymore).

A bit about this corset:

The outer fabric of this underbust corset is black cotton with white ghosts. The straight seams (not the curved hip seams) have exposed double-bone casings made of medium-weight PVC. The centre back has a black poly-cotton piped finish and the top and bottom is also bound in black poly-cotton binding. The lining is black cotton, and there is an internal waist stay. I don’t recall what the interlining is, but likely more black cotton.

This is my “natural hip” design which does not offer a great deal of compression to the hips, allowing for a very dramatic silhouette. The corset has 18 spring steel bones on the straighter seams, and 2 spiral steel bones on the curvy hip seams, for a total of 20 steel bones in this corset.

The corset  has a front strong zipper (not a standard dress zipper) and the lacing is paracord through three-piece black-tone grommets.

  • Fully closed waist measurement: 36.5″
  • Center front length: 12″
The front of the ghost-print corset with exposed PVC boning channels

The front of the ghost-print corset with exposed PVC boning channels

This corset has been worn for photos and in one show, and comes from a smoke-free home. None of my corsets (unless otherwise noted) have modesty panels or garter hooks.

If this fabric combination looks familiar, it’s because I used it twice… also check out the other ghostly corset here!

Follow me!

Want to keep following my posts? Check out Dawns Dress Diary on Facebook, where posts from my blog auto-populate the page when I write something new or have something new to share. If you have a WordPress account you can also subscribe, or you could follow me on Twitter where posts from my blog are automated too. Want even more? Consider following me on Instagram, where I post a few sneak-peeks at what I’m up to!

 

 

2 comments on “Throwback Thursday: Ghosts & PVC corset

  1. Jimmy says:

    Does your website have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an e-mail.

    I’ve got some ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing.
    Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it expand over
    time.

Leave a Reply

