Throwback Thursday: Purple silk corset

Close up on the silk and sheer lace overlay on the purple silk corset

Close up on the silk and sheer lace overlay on the purple silk corset

I’m calling this a Throwback Thursday because this is actually a corset I made a while ago (so I don’t have any work-in-progress photos either). I made this to sell, back when I was hoping to get commissions for custom work (I’m not looking to do custom work anymore).

A bit about this corset:

This is an overbust two-layer corset. The lining is black cotton, while the outer fabric is purple hand-dyed dupioni silk. Four panels of the corset (centre front and side-front) are embellished with black net and golden floral fabric. Because of the nature of hand-dyed silk, there are variations in the colour throughout the corset – these are not stains or flaws; just a factor with hand-dying.

Front of the purple silk corset

Front of the purple silk corset

The corset is bound in black poly-cotton bias, and there is an internal waist stay.

The corset has a front zipper (a heavy-duty zipper which can take the strain of corset lacing, not a standard dress zipper) and back lacing. The back is laced with black cord, through black-tone three-piece grommets.

Back of the purple silk corset

Back of the purple silk corset

There are 10 spring steel bones in this corset, and 4 spiral steel bones, for a total of 14 bones. This is my “natural hip” design, which offers a dramatic silhouette with compression to the waist but little compression to the hips.

  • The centre front length is 13.5″
  • The waist is 26″ fully closed.

 

This corset has never been worn, and comes from a smoke-free home.  None of my corsets (unless otherwise noted) have modesty panels or garter hooks.

 

 

Follow me!

Want to keep following my posts? Check out Dawns Dress Diary on Facebook, where posts from my blog auto-populate the page when I write something new or have something new to share. If you have a WordPress account you can also subscribe, or you could follow me on Twitter where posts from my blog are automated too. Want even more? Consider following me on Instagram, where I post a few sneak-peeks at what I’m up to!

Leave a Reply

