Rose-embellished apron panel

Appliqued flower on a green wool apron panel

Appliqued flower on a green wool apron panel

You might remember that a while back I made an embroidered “Viking”-style apron panel. I’m still not entirely convinced of this style, nor do I think that this kind of embroidery is totally appropriate for Viking Age, but in the SCA these panel-aprons are abundant, and I wanted another way to show off my championship as Montengarde’s Emerald Rose (since I’m also wearing the Avacal Championship regalia), so I decided with a piece of gifted green wool, that I’d make an apron panel decorated with a green flower.

The title “Emerald Rose” will likely be shifted to “Emerald Flower” (or Emerald Blossom, etc) because there’s a conflict with the Order of The Rose.

I chose the same flower design as I made for the bag I made to join the regalia of the Emerald Rose champion, and appliqued it onto the wool made of the same tropical-weight wool as my green underdress and apron dress. I did blanket stitches to apply the applique, in green cotton embroidery thread, with details of the flower in chain stitch in a paler green cotton, and then used two shades of pearl cotton to make whipcord (four strand braid) to decorate the edges. I whip-stitched the trim on, though admit I did it in two rounds, and was a bit inconsistent.

Flower in green wool on green wool

Flower in green wool on green wool

(The colour is a bit more accurate in the top photo.)

Taken with my selfie stick out in the garden - wearing the grey-green underdress and the dark green apron dress.

Taken with my selfie stick out in the garden – wearing the grey-green underdress and the dark green apron dress.

I wore it for the first time to Montengarde‘s July Tavern, and several people complimented it ūüôā

Gratuitous selfie next…

Selfie with my pretty apron brooches - and new blue-black hair!

Selfie with my pretty apron brooches – and new blue-black hair!

Leave a Reply

