Creative Stitches & Crafting Alive 2016

I only got a few things at the 2013 Creative Stitches show

I only got a few things at the 2013 Creative Stitches show

I’ve written in the past about the Creative Stitches & Crafting Alive trade show… in the past I really enjoyed the show, but over time it became less about sewing, and more about scrapbooking. Originally there were a number of free-to-attend classes and workshops, along with a few paid all or half-day classes… then it seemed to move to free “classes” that weren’t much more than sales pitches, and more paid classes. The vendors also seemed to shift away from the good out-of-town fabric and notion stores I adored (Gala Fabrics from Victoria, Great Notion Supply from Abbotsfort/Surrey, etc) and had more of the regular “women’s show” trade show vendors… less interesting to me.

So for several years I haven’t bothered to attend.

All the same… there is a class on redwork at the Calgary show this time around, as well as a few others, and I thought I’d share it to my local readers.

The Calgary show runs:

September 23-24, 2016
Friday 9am – 6pm
Saturday 9am – 5pm

At Spruce Meadows Equiplex.

The Edmonton show runs this weekend:

September 9-10, 2016
Friday 9am – 6pm
Saturday 9am – 5pm

At Millennium Place, Sherwood Park.

See previous posts by following the Creative Stitches tag. To learn more about this year’s show, visit their website: http://creativestitchesshow.com/alberta-shows/

So… will I go?

I haven’t actually decided if I’ll go to the show this year. Do any of my sewing friends in Calgary plan on going? What are you hoping to see/buy/learn? If you’re reading this after the show – what did you think? Let me know in the comments below!

grey flannelette from the show in 2012

grey flannelette from the show in 2012

Leave a Reply

