Beard oil – DIY recipes

Three oil blend beard oil

Three oil blend beard oil

While out shopping with a friend, he started checking out some beard balm and beard oil. He didn’t pick any up, but when his birthday rolled around, I bought him something, and wanted to make him some beard oil to gift him as well.

Looking up recipes online had a LOT of suggestions. Some suggested single carrier oils mixed with single essential oils, some had single carrier oils with a blend of essential oils, and others had blended carrier oils with single or blended essential oils.

There were a number of different carrier oils suggested, but I chose to select jojoba oil, coconut oil, and sweet almond oil. ManlinessKit.com suggests that the most common oils for beard oils include these three along with argan oil (which was pretty expensive at my local supplier, and I don’t like the scent of it).

Coconut oil has a great fragrance by itself, and is reported to prevent hair damage, retains moisture, and conditions hair. It’s also supposed to prevent dandruff or dry skin under the beard. It also has the trait of extending the shelf life of other carrier oils which is a great thing.

Jojoba oil doesn’t interfere with the scalp’s pH balance, and it’s reported to be excellent for hair health and growth – good for my friend who is trying to grow his beard longer… It’s also used to extend the shelf life of other oils.

Sweet Almond oil is supposed to be good for conditioning, and is good for dry, or sensitive skin.

Recipe base

I used the same oil blend base for all three of my oils

equal parts:

  • Jojoba oil
  • Coconut oil
  • Sweet Almond oil

Batch one

The first batch I made was with 1 tbsp each of the carrier oils plus 5 drops of peppermint.

The coconut scent is supposed to blend nicely with the peppermint. This should be a slightly cooling oil mix.

Batch two

The next mix took the same base WITH the peppermint, and I added neroli oil and tea tree oil. If I wanted to repeat this, the equivalents would be:

  • 2/3 tbsp each jojoba oil, sweet almond oil, and coconut oil
  • 2 drops peppermint oil
  • 4 drops neroli oil
  • 2 drops tea tree oil

Batch three

For the third batch I took batch two and added cinnamon leaf oil. If I wanted to repeat this, the equivalents would be:

  • 1/3 tbsp each jojoba oil, sweet almond oil, and coconut oil
  • 1 drops peppermint oil
  • 2 drops neroli oil
  • 1 drops tea tree oil
  • 7 drops cinnamon leaf oil

This one smells absolutely delicious!

More recipes

I also saw a bunch of really good recipes on Beard Oil Recipes, though I hope that the base I’ve used above works out for my friend!

I think before I make up any more, I’ll try to find a better way of labelling the oils – my first choice didn’t work out, so I had to come up with a quick second option.

A number of different beauty products I made

A number of different beauty products I made

The essential oils

The oils I chose have reported properties:

Neroli essential oil – is reported to be an anti-depressant, antiseptic, has deodorant qualities, and acts as an aphrodisiac!

Cinnamon is reported to be astringent, anti-bacterial, and anti-fungal

Tea tree oil is reported to be anti-bacterial, anti-microbial, anti-septic, anti-fungal, and more. It’s supposed to be really good for acne as well.

Peppermint oil is supposed to cool and calm. It can relieve sore muscles (is that a factor for beard oil? Don’t think so…) and has anti-microbial properties so can freshen bad breath and help with some digestive issues. Again, not really a big factor with beard oil…

Containers

I used a really small cobalt glass jar with an eyedropper cap for these oils. I got them from a local supplier that I’ve heard is over-priced, so I won’t post a link. Originally I was going to go with a larger container with a pump-top, but I thought the smaller container would be good to start these out as a “test”. If my friend likes one more than another, I can make up a bigger batch for future – but there’s no need to make a big batch that it turns out he doesn’t love. The eyedropper or pump top should make it easier to get out the oil in a measured amount – the user only needs a few drops for a short beard, and this should prevent spillage or waste.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

