I’m naming all the stars

I'm naming all the stars - poured acrylic painting

I’m naming all the stars – poured acrylic painting

A few months ago an acquaintance started a Craft Swap – the basic idea is that every month a theme is selected, and we have a week or so to opt-in to that theme…. once she has all of the committed participants, she pairs people up randomly, and we have a month to make a craft (any medium) on that theme for the other person. We then arrange between ourselves where and when to exchange the craft (with the intention of it being near the end of the month).

I didn’t participate in the first swap (just too busy and the theme, “Rainbows” didn’t really speak to me) but I liked the second one “Quotes and Inspiration”, and my swap-partner and I settled on quotes from Buffy the Vampire Slayer. (I’m not much for inspirational quotes….)

I chose:

Spike: Are we feeling better, then?
Drusilla: I’m naming all the stars.
Spike: You can’t see the stars, love. That’s the ceiling. Also it’s day.
Drusilla: I can see them. But I’ve named them all the same name, and there’s terrible confusion.” – From the episode “Innocence” from Buffy the Vampire Slayer

I wanted to do a poured acrylic painting – sort of a skyscape with stars.

I started off with a base coat of yellow ochre, then did a mix of prussian blue, Paynes grey, and Ultramarine… and then mixed up pouring medium with liquid acrylics in three colours – blue, purple and red.

three stages of the stars painting

three stages of the stars painting

Then I added in some interference liquid acrylics (green-violet) for the stars…

I forgot how dark the poured acrylics dried though – I was a bit happier with it when it was still wet, so when it was dry I added in more liquid acrylic interference (blue) to lighten it up more…

Then I cleaned up the edges, and poured and brushed on a top-coat which sort of makes all of the high and low points from the pour sort of settle down a little.

I haven’t yet been able to get in touch with my swap-partner… so in the meantime, this is hanging out in my room!

Leave a Reply

