Celebration – hairpiece

Complete "celebration" Italian outfit including the padded roll hat, teal figured velvet overdress, and green silk underdress with sleeves

Complete “celebration” Italian outfit including the padded roll hat, teal figured velvet overdress, and green silk underdress with sleeves

You may have noticed from my posts about the “Celebration” Italian outfit, that I also had a hairpiece – since my own hair is not down past my waist!

For this I looked at my inspiration image, as well as a bunch of other images – many of which show a LONG ponytail, in sort of a ‘casing’, with a bit of adornment (ribbon, pearls, etc).

Complete outfit from the back - the Italian "celebration" outfit.

Complete outfit from the back – the Italian “celebration” outfit.

I took the remnant cut from the hem of the camicia, and sewed a casing – I tapered it slightly, making it wider at the base where it would meet my head, and smaller at the end where the hair (if it were natural) would taper off in density. I filled the casing with fake hair, and hand-sewed the base “closed” around the folded-over hair.  The hair is also tied off with ribbon, which is basted to the inside of the hat to hold it in place (albeit a removable, temporary option). I also used ribbon to wrap around the linen, and at the crosses (and ring around the base) I sewed on small faux pearls. I also cut into the hair at the end to give it a more natural look.

I could have filled the casing with polyfill, and then just tucked the hair into the end of the casing, but I figured it would have a slight colour difference, and then I’d have to figure out  how to get the hair to stay…. this just was a more simple option I think.

I did have one minor snaffu when making the hairpiece, I poked my finger and bled on the white linen. It was quickly corrected… (your own saliva has enzymes or something like that to break down your own blood… yep..I licked my linen. 😮 )

Inspiration

The original inspiration image

A detail of my inspiration image. Direct link from Pinterest

A detail of my inspiration image. Direct link from Pinterest

This shows the white tube – but part of a veil or cap under the hat. The hat also has the black ribbon – but it’s really more like lace than ribbon. Oddly, the ‘ponytail’ doesn’t taper at all, which really makes be believe that it is entirely false hair.

Another with a similar hat

Braided hair with a padded hat and veil. Direct link from Pinterest

Braided hair with a padded hat and veil. Direct link from Pinterest

This appears to be a long braid rather than a casing, but the whole thing is encased in a veil, perhaps with some white ribbon?

In this case the veil appears to go over the padded hat rather than under it.

More like what I made

A ribbon-trimmed casing. Direct link from Pinterest

A ribbon-trimmed casing. Direct link from Pinterest

In this image it looks like her natural hair is braided and then a casing or white wrap goes over top of it.

This one is like what I made, with the black ribbon crossing over the white casing. Like my version the ‘ponytail’ tapers from the base to the end.

Pearl-embellished

A pearl-embellished ponytail. Direct link from Pinterest

A pearl-embellished ponytail. Direct link from Pinterest

My last example shows an oddly-shaped ponytail, embellished with criss-crossing pearl strands instead of a wrap/casing/etc. However, I suspect in order to have such a smooth, even, and large “tube” of hair… that there’s something else going on there rather than just pearls around hair.

 

Leave a Reply

