Arts & Sciences at Twelfth Night

The second session of judging for A&S at Twelfth Night in Montengarde

The second session of judging for A&S at Twelfth Night in Montengarde

After a year and ten months serving as Montengarde’s A&S champion (Emerald Rose) I was happy to host the competition to find my replacement at Twelfth Night.

Montengarde is the name of the Barony in the SCA – it’s the mundane city of Calgary, Alberta.

The competition

I had four individuals enter for the chance to win the honour of being the next Emerald Rose. Each of these individuals offered two entries. Additionally I had three single-entry

One of the two sessions in the second half of the A&S competition at Twelfth Night in Montengarde.

One of the two sessions in the second half of the A&S competition at Twelfth Night in Montengarde.

competitors. These individuals were looking for the chance to show their work and get feedback, but were not competing for the title. Entries included:

  • Hand-woven leg wraps
  • Beeswax candles
  • A research paper on Anglo-Saxon culinary
  • Flatbread
  • Skyr
  • Briw (a cooked stew kind of dish)
  • Tallow candles
  • A block-printed garment
  • An Italian gown
  • English knitting
  • A Tarim Basin outfit
Many people came to hear the presentations - beyond just the judges at the A&S competition at Twelfth Night in Montengarde.

Many people came to hear the presentations – beyond just the judges at the A&S competition at Twelfth Night in Montengarde.

I was really excited at how many entries there were, and how many of them were culinary entries. While culinary isn’t an area I’m particularly well-researched in, I have heard over and over how it’s one of the more difficult subject areas to compete in (alongside research papers and bardic entries) and so I’m super-impressed that the participants opted to put their efforts into this for the competition!

The winners

One of the two sessions in the second half of the A&S competition at Twelfth Night in Montengarde.

One of the two sessions in the second half of the A&S competition at Twelfth Night in Montengarde.

Along with the title winner, I also offered a small prize for the winner of the highest-scoring entry. This could be either one of the title competitors, or one of the single-entry competitors. In the end, the competitor who displayed her hand-woven leg wraps won the highest score.

While I’d like to think that all of the competitors as friends, I’m pleased to say that my friend Alice won the title, and is Montengarde’s new Emerald Rose. I’m excited to see what she’ll bring to the role this year! (And hopefully work beside her as I’ll still be the Kingdom champion until the Kingdom A&S competition in November 2017).

Prizes

While the new title-holder received a large bag full of regalia for the office, I also put together two small pouches with little gifts – one for the title holder to keep, and one for the highest-entry winner.

Design competition

I also hoped to host a design competition to find someone to design a medallion for the Emerald Rose – the A&S champion is the ONLY baronial champion who doesn’t have a medallion. (I love the sash, but it’s hard to wear over every costume, and I tend to wear my Kingdom champion medallion WAY more than the sash.)

Unfortunately, there were no entrants into the competition, so I have no photos or results to report.

Additional photos

I only was able to find time to take a few photos during the second session (there were two sessions in two blocks of time, done in a round-table style of judging format).

Leave a Reply

