Oh so 80s mini skirt

getting all dressed up for an 80s vs. 90s party for New Years Eve 2016-17

getting all dressed up for an 80s vs. 90s party for New Years Eve 2016-17

I had a long weekend for Christmas, but didn’t get much sewing done… but on December 31 I realized that the outfit I was going to wear to a New Years Eve party wasn’t going to work… so off to the sewing machine!

using the twin-needle to hem my hot-pink 80s-style mini skirt

using the twin-needle to hem my hot-pink 80s-style mini skirt

If you follow me on Instagram, you’ve already seen this skirt – it’s hot pink spandex – and totally not my normal style, but perfect for an 80s vs. 90s dance party at Dickens Pub in Calgary.

I drafted the pattern based on ready-to-wear skirt I bought at Torrid, but made it quite a bit shorter. Since Calgary was pretty cold at New Years Eve, I wore it with thermal leggings (pretty much my go-to stocking substitute this winter), an altered HIM band shirt, a studded belt, studded boots, a faux hawk, and lipstick to match the skirt.

Like the retro-style top I posted the other day, I finished the hem using a twin-needle stitch, which mimics the expensive cover stitch machine technique, with a domestic sewing machine.

The face of the garment looks like two lines of straight top-stitching, while the backside is a zig-zag… which means the hem on this stretchy garment – remains stretchy!

The skirt came together really quickly – so quickly that I made another using the same leopard-print spandex from that retro-style top… but no photos yet of that!

Collage of the steps making my hot pink 80s-style mini skirt

Collage of the steps making my hot pink 80s-style mini skirt

 

Leave a Reply

