Medieval jewellery at the Turku Medieval Market

One of my favourite jewellery booths from the Turku Medieval Market

One of my favourite jewellery booths from the Turku Medieval Market

Along with the diamond twill wool I mentioned a few posts back, some of my best purchases the Turku Medieval Market, (Keskiaikaiset markkinat) were jewellery and *bling* for my Viking age kit.

The jewellery booths were generally quite popular, so some of my photos aren’t great – because the booth was too crowded to get good photos! I looked mostly for booths that had reasonable prices for good-looking replicas, but there were also several booths with accessories more with a “medieval feel” or medieval-inspired, which I didn’t take photos of.

Historiska Fynd

This was absolutely my favourite booth at the market. The clerk was super friendly, outgoing, and extremely helpful, they had a number of really nice-looking replicas, and he told me that their website, Historiska Fynd has write ups about where each original came from – which will definitely help me place my purchases to align with my persona.

Like the fabric I mentioned in another post, I was a bit frustrated at the lack of pricing on most of these pieces, but in speaking to the clerk, most of the prices were quite reasonable.

Along with a LOT of Viking-era replica pieces, they also had a number of pieces from Medieval Europe. This is not really my area of a lot of study yet, but it seems like most of it was 12-14th century.

The only item I would have wanted… but walked away from because of cost were another set of brooches for my apron dress. I picked up a number of bronze items (though up until now most of my kit has been in white bronze or silver) so I might just be in need of a set of bronze brooches for the future… now just to determine what style I am most interested in…

One of my favourite jewellery booths from the Turku Medieval Market - read the blog to find out who they are!

One of my favourite jewellery booths from the Turku Medieval Market

In my next post I’ll show off what I bought, and where the original pieces came from.

In addition to the Medieval Market at Turku, Historiska Fynd also had a booth at the Medieval Market in Tallinn, Estonia… but more about that will come in weeks to come!

Fabric-store jewellery

Sword scabbard fittings, brooches, and belt fittings from another vendor at the Turku Medieval Market.

Sword scabbard fittings, brooches, and belt fittings from another vendor at the Turku Medieval Market.

Another vendor at the market which had lovely things was the same one where I bought the diamond twill wool. (Whose name I was never told and couldn’t find….)

Brooches and belt fittings from another vendor at the Turku Medieval Market.

Brooches and belt fittings from another vendor at the Turku Medieval Market.

This vendor didn’t seem as focused on Viking Age jewellery, but also had a lot of other medieval-looking pieces. Since this isn’t my area of focus, I’m not really able to identify much about the pieces; if they are replicas or pieces inspired by the medieval age.

Unfortunately here too they were missing posted prices, which I find frustrating. I completely understand how difficult it can be to price small items, but for me I am much more likely to be tempted by an item if I see the price seems reasonable. If I have to ask the price, my eye is less likely to wander.

In fact, when I went to purchase my item here.. they had to look it up in a book!

Other jewellery sellers

I didn’t end up purchasing from any of the other vendors, but just to make people want to come with me back to Turku next year… I thought I’d show some of the other photos too! This booth was so popular that it was hard to get a good photo without my shadow in the way!

Follow me!

Come join me on Facebook!

If you are a WordPress user, it’s super easy to follow me through WordPress, but if you’re not (or if you don’t check in frequently) I’d like to ask you follow me on Facebook! Along with auto-posts every time I update my blog with new content, I also add nearly daily content, links, videos, and my Instagram feed about costumes and crafts.

If you want to follow more posts about the Turku Medieval Market – just click the tag!

Leave a Reply

