CoBloWriMo – Aug 6 – Book recommendation

CoBloWriMo - Costume Blog Writing Month

CoBloWriMo – Costume Blog Writing Month

For today’s Costume Blog Writing Month challenge, the prompt is “book recommendation”. I’ve blogged about costuming, crafting, beauty, and quilting books in the past, so I had lots to draw from for this challenge…

…but…

I don’t really know what the interest of my readers are for sure – so instead of suggesting a book everyone should read, I thought I’d share one of the first books I ever was really inspired by insofar as costuming was concerned.

Direct link from Amazon.ca

Direct link from Amazon.ca

I first picked up Katherine Strand Holkeboer’s Patterns for Theatrical Costumes back when I was in high school. The patterns might not be perfectly researched, but what it’s great for is just a basic overview of styles – which is a great jumping off point for more research.

Most of the time… I’m inspired by *something* visual. A painting, another costumer.. etc.. this was a great first step to see which kinds of costumes I thought were pretty.

When I don’t have the time or energy for spending a LOT of time on research, this also gives me a quick resource to get RIGHT to something. While the majority of the patterns are historically-inspired, there are also other character-costumes as well. This isn’t about historical costuming, it is about theatrical or fantasy costuming… and it meets the mark there for me – giving me just enough to either throw together something quickly, or giving me a jumping off point for further research. It includes both men’s and women’s costumes too, which is great!

Leave a Reply

