Food from the Medieval Market

Selection of cookies and baked goods displayed in birch bark boxes for sale at the Turku Medieval Market.

Selection of cookies and baked goods displayed in birch bark boxes for sale at the Turku Medieval Market.

While at the Turku Medieval Market, there were many different food vendors. What really attracted me wasn’t so much the types of food being offered, but the unique and interesting ways that the food was being prepared, displayed, and plated.

I thought that I’d share this, largely for my friends in the SCA who are passionate about the culinary arts. I don’t know how many of these foods are historically accurate to the middle ages; if you have thoughts on them, please share with me and other readers in the comments!

This vendor had a selection of cookies and baked goods displayed in birch bark boxes for sale at the Turku Medieval Market.

This vendor had a selection of cookies and baked goods displayed in birch bark boxes for sale at the Turku Medieval Market.

I really enjoyed the display at this vendor booth. He was selling cookies and baked goods, each displayed in a tray/box made of birch bark. I thought this was creative and beautiful to look at.

Based off the list of vendors from the Turku Medieval Market website, I think that this vendor may have been “Tiensuu Erkki” – no website unfortunately.

This was a very interesting looking space at the Medieval Market - I think it was intended to be a pub!

This was a very interesting looking space at the Medieval Market – I think it was intended to be a pub!

There was what looked like a bar or pub as well – though I had to rush through this area so I didn’t have the chance to look into it more. I also couldn’t find it on the list of vendors, so I can’t confirm… but it definitely looked interesting!

This vendor served up food on planks of wood for plates with wooden utensils.

This vendor served up food on planks of wood for plates with wooden utensils.

The next vendor was serving up food on wooden ‘plates’ – that were kind of like platters. I found this very interesting, though I wonder about the cost of this… they also had wooden utensils for their customers. (How cute is the photo above, where I captured a bird flying overhead in shadow at the bottom left corner?)

Very large skillets with a variety of food for sale at the Turku Medieval Market

Very large skillets with a variety of food for sale at the Turku Medieval Market

The food they had for offer was mostly cooked and kept warm in a large skillet (maybe a meter across?). The fence between the vendor and their customers hid the source of heat under the skillets – I don’t know if this was fire, propane, or electric.

They also had an amazing-looking rack of fish smoking/cooking beside their tent. The salmon is nailed to boards, and the rack above lets the salmon either lean over the fire, or lean back from it. Presumably one will smoke/cook the fish, and the other just keeps it warm close to the fire?

Suomen Meriruokakeittiö OY (Finland Seafood Kitchen) was the only vendor with salmon on the menu, so I am certain that this is the name of the food vendor. Unfortunately they didn’t have  a website listed, but their other offerings included fried vendace,  whitefish, root vegetables, sausages and pancakes.

I did a web search for Suomen Meriruokakeittiö OY and found their website here.

There was also a vendor who had a roasted pig… I think this looks kind of gross, but fascinating at the same time. The only vendor with roasted pork listed on the vendor list was  Fleischerei K. Müller from Germany, so I’m guessing this is them! Another vendor had a wood-fired oven and I think they were selling pizza types of dishes (their line up was very long, so I didn’t have a chance to look). Another vendor, which I think is Pinni Niina (no website) was selling pancakes on a similar large skillet. The vendor list indicates that they were selling “pancakes with savory meat, barley and vegetable filling and sweet jam pancakes, stuffed savory pasties and lollipops”.

Unfortunately while at the Turku Medieval Market, (Keskiaikaiset markkinat), I didn’t have the chance to try out some of the food offerings. My visit was far too short, and ideally the next time I return I’d love to spend more time there, and try out some of the food as well.

More posts about the Turku Medieval Market

You can click the Turku Medieval Market tag to see more of the posts from the market – but stay tuned because there are more to come!

Leave a Reply

