Laser cut doll shelves

Laser cut bookshelf, desk, and two chairs - a Christmas 2022 gift for my miniature/doll collecting friend.

Laser cut bookshelf, desk, and two chairs – a Christmas 2022 gift for my miniature/doll collecting friend.

A number of years ago, I used the Maker Space’s laser cutter, paper cutter, etc to make a series of miniature doll furniture and accessories for a friend. Although I thought they made cute gifts, really I also got a lot of satisfaction out of designing and building them.

After talking with her later, she identified a few other things she’d like, so when I was able to get back into the Maker Space in the fall of 2022, I decided that along with some of the other things I was working on (mostly for myself!) I would also make a few additional things for her, for holiday and birthday gifts.

I referenced some of the lovely things she’s bought on Etsy for scale and size, and designed each of them to fit the kind of dolls she collects, as well to some degree the style of existing furniture.

I used Adobe Illustrator, then turned the files into files that would fit on the 1/8″ thick Baltic Birch Plywood I had in my wood stash (for projects like this) and eventually got into the Laser Cutter room to cut them out.

I taped one side of my wood to reduce the amount of sanding I’d need to do, but once they were off the cutter, they still did need a little sanding. I used a 220 sanding block to remove the little bit of scorch marks that were on the edges, and then separated all the pieces into their perspective projects.

Mid-century style doll bookshelves

This was made to match the chairs and desk I blogged about earlier.

I cut the file differently than I thought it would go, and all of the side supports fell out. I decided to take advantage of this, and paint them a different colour so they would sort of “pop”. I first took them into a shoe box and spray painted them silver, and then took the remaining wood for this project outside and spray painted them white. I then added rub n buff in silver to the side supports as well, because the silver spray paint wasn’t as bold as I had hoped it would be.

Adding rub n buff to the side supports for the mid-century style bookshelf

Adding rub n buff to the side supports for the mid-century style bookshelf

Once everything was dry, I fitted the contrasting side supports into the frame. I had kept the pieces that had been cut out, to use as spacers so everything would fit in perfectly – but… it did not end up working out as smoothly as I had hoped.

Fitting the contrasting side supports into the frame for the mid-century style bookshelf

Fitting the contrasting side supports into the frame for the mid-century style bookshelf

I set this aside for a bit, and ended up having the opportunity to get back into the maker studio laser cutter room, for a second attempt.  (I might come back to this later… she has a birthday in February!)

Second round

Laser cut bookshelf, desk, and two chairs - a Christmas 2022 gift for my miniature/doll collecting friend.

Laser cut bookshelf, desk, and two chairs – a Christmas 2022 gift for my miniature/doll collecting friend.

I spent a good deal of time basically completely re-making the file. I wanted the same intersecting arches so that it would match the other mid-century inspired desk and chairs, but obviously needed to make it so that the sides didn’t fall out! I was super distracted while working on the file though, so it ended up taking me a LOT longer than I had thought it would.

Ultimately though, I got it cut out on the second opportunity to get into the laser cutter room, and once home, I was able to remove the tape, sand, and begin assembly.

Laser cut bookshelf, desk, and two chairs - a Christmas 2022 gift for my miniature/doll collecting friend.

Laser cut bookshelf, desk, and two chairs – a Christmas 2022 gift for my miniature/doll collecting friend.

I ended up gluing the sides to the back to start, and then started inserting each of the tiny shelves into their respective spaces. The little bit of “give” in the not-quite set up wood glue allowed this wiggle room, because it is a VERY tight fit. In fact, on one or two of the shelves I actually had to get out my craft knife to shave down a bit of the bracket area.

I don’t think that I’ll end up re-making this file… it was a bit too finicky for the result.

Like the other items I made for Christmas 2022, I left the book shelf unstained and unpainted. We had a really terrible spell of cold weather right before the holidays, plus I got really sick for about three and a half weeks RIGHT before the holidays, so even if I had considered just finding a very light wood stain – I would not have been able to get out into my (unheated) garage to stain these items anyways.

Instead, I let my friend know that whatever colour she wants it painted or stained, I’ll do for her – once the weather is more suitable for hours outside!

Read more!

Laser cut bookshelf - a Christmas 2022 gift for my miniature/doll collecting friend.I’m making a few different things in the Maker Space; you can check out the Maker Space tag to see all of them once they’re published!

If it’s the miniatures you’re most interested in, visit the Miniatures tag to see everything I’ve made so far.

If you’re a WordPress user, consider subscribing!

Otherwise, you can follow me on Instagram – where I post all of my projects (works-in-progress and completed projects too) along with whatever else strikes my fancy like selfies or food photos…

You can also join my Facebook page, where I promote each of the posts that go live on my blog, along with a few other things occasionally.

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.