Stainless Steel Lion head Viking Knit

Stainless steel Viking Knit necklace with lion-head end caps and a spring gate clasp.

Stainless steel Viking Knit necklace with lion-head end caps and a spring gate clasp.

A while ago a friend heard that I had learned how to do Viking Knit, and she wanted to learn this too, so we got together over a drink and I demonstrated some of the techniques. (I can’t wait to see what she makes too!) As my demonstration, I decided to do a second piece with stainless steel. Although the material is quite a bit more challenging than the copper wire, I do appreciate that I don’t have to worry about the colour changing, and I really LIKE the look of stainless steel in the Viking Knit.

Before the draw plate

Like most of the other pieces I’ve made, I did this on my original dowel, which resulted in a piece of Viking Knit that was about 2.5 cm wide before pulling it through the draw plate.

After the draw plate

I did this piece in double-knit, and the resulting chain, when it came off the dowel was 61 cm long. I pulled it through the largest hole in my draw plate, which resulted in a chain 86 cm long in total and approximately 1 cm wide.

Adding the findings

Once the chain was finished, I cut it down to the size I needed (see back to my Lion-head silver Viking Knit project for some photos from that step)  and set the remainder aside (once I make something up with it, I’ll share that project with you too..) and then added some of the lion-head end-caps/terminals that I used on the silver piece. I also have dragons, snakes, skulls, and tigers, but I just really liked the lion for this one again.

Close up of the lion head end caps and spring gate clasp on the stainless steel Viking Knit necklace

Close up of the lion head end caps and spring gate clasp on the stainless steel Viking Knit necklace

Materials

I used Artistic Wire, Stainless Steel, 26 gauge. I used a full 30 yard / 27.43 meter spool. The spool was $7.30 at Beads & Plenty More.

 

Stainless steel Viking Knit necklace with lion-head end caps and a spring gate clasp.

Stainless steel Viking Knit necklace with lion-head end caps and a spring gate clasp.

2 comments on “Stainless Steel Lion head Viking Knit

  1. George Hoffman says:

    Where do you get the animal head clasps

    • Dawn says:

      I ordered mine from Etsy – though they seem to come and go with different sellers. I’ve found the horse-head ones at a shop locally, but when I went back for more they were all out. I’ve never found them on the traditional bead-selling websites I’m afraid 😦

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.