Green matte PVC bralette

Wearing my new green matte PVC bralette along with a fast fashion blazer and skirt

Wearing my new green matte PVC bralette along with a fast fashion blazer and skirt

While I was re-organizing my sewing room a little bit, and had my last group of bikini tops / bralettes waiting to be finished, I came across some leftover fabrics from other projects that would work well for bralettes – and that I didn’t really have enough material to make much of anything else with right now.

Even though my other group of items wasn’t done yet… I still started up with a few more using the same pattern, the Barrett  Bralette from Madalynne lingerie. Get the pattern (without my modifications obviously) and even a sewing kit with everything you’ll need to make your own on the Madalynne lingerie website.

One of the fabrics I found in my stash was this green matte PVC. I originally used this fabric to make a short circle skirt.

Green matte PVC spandex circle skater skirt (worn with my altered Stam1na t-shirt)

Green matte PVC spandex circle skater skirt (worn with my altered Stam1na t-shirt)

Construction

Cutting the bralette out of green matte PVC

Cutting the bralette out of green matte PVC

Like all of the other Barrett Bralettes I’ve made, this started by cutting out three pieces in fashion fabric, and in lining. For this bralette, I used a soft black t-shirt knit I got at the 2023 Grandmother’s Fabric Sale for the lining.

I opted to not use rings for the shoulder straps, and instead sandwiched them between the fashion and lining fabric layers of the cups on the front, and top-stitched them on the back.

For the band, I used a wide elastic rather than the fabric casing I’d  used for some of the other bralettes, since the black elastic looked good with this PVC, and I thought it would be more comfortable than the fabric casing.

If you want to see more photos of the different stages, you can click the bralette tag!   Since every bralette is basically made the same way, I’m not taking ALL the photos of every bralette at every stage.

Read More!

  • I made a number of bikini tops / bralettes… if you want to see more of them, click the bralette tag! 
  • If you have a WordPress account – subscribe!
  • If you’re on Instagram – follow me!  (I post costuming things, but also other stuff)
  • Want to see all of my posts on Facebook? Come join me on Dawn’s Dress Diary! (I share every post from here – but also neat costuming, history, and sewing related links as well.)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.