Long sheer black flocked skirt

Long sheer black flocked skirt

Long sheer black flocked skirt

This is another quick post, mostly just to show off a (sort of) recent project. I actually finished this in October, but I had such a line up of things to blog about that I didn’t have “space” for it in the line up until now!

This skirt is from fabric from the 2023 Grandmother’s Fabric & Yarn sale (I’m getting so many projects out of that sale!) and it’s a sheer black fabric, with a sort of velvety flocked floral pattern.

Sewing the sheer flocked fabric - a better view of the floral pattern

Sewing the sheer flocked fabric – a better view of the floral pattern

When the skirt hangs down, the sheerness isn’t as evident, but when I open it up… it’s much more evident. For the photos for this I just wore black panties under it, but if I wear it out, I’ll likely wear a slip, leggings, or shorts (or maybe even a short skirt?) It’s definitely a layering kind of piece.

The skirt is a circle skirt, and I used my normal circle skirt pattern for it, but added a lot of length – basically as much length as the fabric would allow, so it’s a nice long skirt. It has a back zipper with a hook and bar at the waist.

Cutting out the sheer flocked fabric for a long circle skirt

Cutting out the sheer flocked fabric for a long circle skirt

Instead of using the same sheer fabric for the waistband, I used the fabric leftover from another project, and it also has a bit of elastic in the waist rather than interfacing to keep it’s shape but also be a little more accommodating and comfortable.

Inserting a zipper in the sheer flocked fabric - a better view of the floral pattern

Inserting a zipper in the sheer flocked fabric – a better view of the floral pattern

It’s hemmed with a serged and turned 1″ or so hem, after I let it hang for several nights (overkill… I just was doing so many projects at that point!) so that the bias could hang out if needed. As it turns out – it was fine as-is and I didn’t need to adjust the hem at all.

Read More!

  • Long sheer black flocked skirtIf you have a WordPress account – subscribe!
  • If you’re on Instagram – follow me!  (I post costuming things, but also other stuff)
  • Want to see all of my posts on Facebook? Come join me on Dawn’s Dress Diary! (I share every post from here – but also neat costuming, history, and sewing related links as well.)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.